Home > Media > Music > Classical >

Media Vita Polskie Piesni Pasyjne - Polish Passion Songs By Bornus Consort [r]
Media Vita Polskie Piesni Pasyjne - Polish Passion Songs By Bornus Consort

Earn 10 Points for every dollar you spend!
Our Price: $24.95
EAN: 5902547002798

Availability: Usually Ships in 24 to 48 Hours
Product Code:

The CD "Media Vita - In the Midst Of Life" presents the results of the 15 years long ensemble's work on the passion chant.  Years of struggle with simplicity of form, adequacy of vocal technique and musical aesthetics as well as theological interpretation.  Yet above all it was a time of constantly discovering the earlier and earlier traditions and gradual study of laws that govern human memory.  We learn the oral transmission from few heirs of living tradition who received their song directly from the former generations not having shed a word, a quaver of voice.  Many years had to go past by the time we have admitted this very transmission to be the perfect one.
Discovering the principles of the 10th century Gregorian chant was for us an important stage in learning the tradition.  This chant was similar to almost nothing we have known about  European music.  It consisted of certain cells and modules most probably which we might date back to the times of Constantine, Mohamet, the first Christians, Jesus Christ or even earlier.  This chant revealed to us some new liturgical meanings.  Referring to the forgotten sense of time it made us understand the rules of a common singing in a different way.  Through the similarities or even common elements it was opening toward remote traditions of old confessions of Asia Minor, Byzantine and Arabic as well as many other European folk traditions.  Then the certain circle of our research was completed and thus we decided to present this music.

The vocal ensemble Bornus Consort was founded in 1981 by Marcin Bornus-Szczycinski.  It was created as an attempt to revive the Rorantist chapel which was active at the Wawel Castle in Krakow from the 16th century.

1 Vinea mea  4:11

2 Jezusa Judasz przedal  10:13

3 Jezusa Judasz przedal  10:13

4 Jezus Chrystus Bog Czlowiek, Madrosc Ojca swego  17:09

5 Jezus Chrystus Bog Czlowiek, Madrosc Ojca swego  17:09

6 Pamietajmy wszyscy wierni  3:54

7 Stala Matka zalosciwa  4:09

8 Krzyzu Swiety i chwalebny  4:21

9 Krzyzu Swiety nade wszystko  10:31

10 Wszyscy mieszkancy dworu niebieskiego  5:35

11 Badz pozdrowion, Krzyzu Swiety  2:20

12 Media vita
  • Compact Disc
  • Polish - English Booklet Enclosed
  • 10 Selections
  • Total time: 66:07

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Media > Music > Classical
Media > Music > Medieval/Renaissance/Baroque
Media > Music > Religious > Religious Music
Other > Religious Articles > Books, Music & More