Home > Media > Music > Classical >

Krzysztof Penderecki Vol 2 - Jutrznia/Utrenya
Krzysztof Penderecki Vol 2 - Jutrznia/Utrenya

Earn 10 Points for every dollar you spend!
Our Price: $17.95

Quantity in Stock:1

Availability: Usually Ships in 24 to 48 Hours
Product Code:

UTRENYA I: THE ENTOMBMENT OF CHRIST. This great sacral piece for two mixed choir. five solo voices and symphony orchestra was created in 1969 and 1970 to Old Church Slavic writings concerning Russian Orthodox Church liturgy of Great Saturday and in part, Vespers of Great Friday. Although it is a liturgical piece it exudes the air of an authentic Orthodox Church mass with exceptional suggestiveness. The whole piece, developing attaca, consists of five movements.

1. Tropar, a capella (gospel telling)
2. Wieliczanije (the praising of Christ together with the lamentation finished with the cry for mercy)
3. Irmos, a capella (a poetic picture of the Emtombment)
4. Nie wydaj mienie Mati (a lyrical address of Christ to Holy Mother)
5. Stichira (the lamentation over Christ's death and statement of hope for the Resurrection)

UTRENYA I had its world premiere on the 8th of April, 1970 in the gothic Cathedral of Altenberg.
UTRENYA II: THE RESURRECTION OF CHRIST. The second part of the diptych, being its culmination, inspired by the Passover was completed in 1971 and consists of another 8 movements.
  • Compact Disc
  • Total time 75.39 minutes
  • Recorded in 1973 in Warsaw
  • Polish/English booklet enclosed

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Media > Music > Classical