Home > Media > Music > Classical >

Tabulatura Warszawskiego Towarzystwa Muzycznego - Polish Renaissance Music
Religious as well secular compositions (moralistic, royal, occasional, political, dancing, instrumental) of the 16th - 17th centuries. Nominated for the Fryderyk Award in 2008.

Alternative Views:

Earn 10 Points for every dollar you spend!
Our Price: $24.95

Quantity in Stock:5

Availability: Usually Ships in 24 to 48 Hours
Product Code:

The compositions collected in the Warsaw Musical Society Tablature originated in the circles of the Polish royal court after 1550. It was possible to identify some of their authors: Jakub Sowa (the virtuoso organ player at the court of Sigmund III Vasa, working there under the direction of Asprillo Pacelli, murdered during the trip of the king across Sweden, in 1594), Marcin Wartecki (a royal musician in 1564-1568), Marcin Leopolita (died 1589; educated in Lvov and at Cracow Academy; he was probably a student of Sebastian of Felsztyn; in 1560 he became a composer of the king Sigmund August; his Missa Paschalis is one of the most outstanding works of the Polish Renaissance). Krzysztof Klabon (1550-1616; a composer, flautist, lutinist and singer at the royal courts of Sigmund II, Sigmund III and Stefan Batory). The Tablature contains also a composition of the famous Waclaw of Szamotuly.
The range of the late Renaissance works, recorded in the Tablature, corresponds to the royal employment of their authors. Four and five voice, short organ compositions accompanied church ceremonies, sometimes as a prelude, sometimes an interlude, sometimes a commentary on the liturgy, most probably celebrated in the Warsaw collegiate church or Cracow cathedral.

Warsaw at the close of the 16th century, for only a few years then the capital of Poland, can be proud of its beautiful musical chapter, while Warsaw musicians of the 21th century undertake its creative interpretation.

1. Salve Regina 2:48
2. Me Expectaverunt Peccatores 2:33
3. Kirie Pascale 1:45
4. Aliud Kyrie 4:22
5. Spiritus Domini Replevit Orbium Terrarum 2:38
6. Introitus de Santa Cruce... 4:17
7. Introitus Infra Octavam... 3:10
8. Introitus in Festotrium Regum... 1:43
9. Prosa Veni Sancte Spiritus 0:53
10. In Labore 1:00
11. Gloria Patri... 2:38
12. Sine Tuo Nomine 0:47
13. Flecte Quod Est 0:56
14. Introitus in Die Ascensionis 2:46
15. Laquebar de Testimonis 4:17
16. Salve Sancta Parens 2:13
17. Da Virtutis 0:59
18. Resurrexi et Adhuc Tecum Sum 3:09
19. Quintus Tonus Magnificat 5:45
20. Benedicte Dominum Omnes Angeli... 1:34

Musicians of Ars Nova
Weronika Grozdew - vocal
Dagmara Barna - vocal
Ars Nova
Agnieszka Obst - fiddle
Joanna Nogal - fiddele
Marta Zalewska - violino
Marcin Zalewski - viola da gamba
PaweĊ‚ Zalewski - viola da gamba
Piotr Wawreniuk - trombone
Robert Krajewski - trombone
Krzysztof Owczynik - recorders, cornamuse
Jacek Urbaniak - bombard's, cornamuse, recorders, artistic direction
  • Compact disc
  • 20 selections
  • 16 page English/Polish language booklet with historical notes about the music.
  • Performed by Ars Nova, The Warsaw Music Society's medieval instruments ensemble.
  • Total Time 50:00

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Media > Music > Classical
Media > Music > Medieval/Renaissance/Baroque
Media > Music > Religious > Religious Music
Other > Religious Articles > Books, Music & More